Gerrards Cross Squash Club
Honours Board
Veterans' Champion
YearWinner Runner-up
2017 S Hefferman R Fisher
2016 S Hefferman R Fisher
2015 S Hefferman R Fisher
2014 S Hefferman R Fisher
2013 S Hefferman R Fisher
2012 S Hefferman I Swallow
2011 S Hefferman R Fisher
2010 R Gulati V Paul
2009 K Popely N W Hallchurch
2008 S Bayley K Popely
2007 K Popely N W Hallchurch
2006 R Hopkinson N W Hallchurch
2005 K Popely C Hockin
2001 M Nightingale C Sawyer
1998 R E Boyd C Randall
1997 J Singleton R E Boyd
1996 R E Boyd C Randall
1995 R E Boyd
1994 R W Francis
1993 R E Boyd
1992 M de Semlyen
1991 R E Boyd
1990 R E Boyd
1989 M de Semlyen
1988 A M Chalmers
1987 R W Willis
1986 M de Semlyen
1985 A Collins
1984 M de Semlyen
1983 J Walker
1982 B C Palmer
1981 B C Palmer
1980 B C Palmer
1979 D Cocker
1978 P Clark
1977 P Clark
1976 P Clark
1975 P Clark

Cap'n Heff collects cup on way to Championship clash

Sunday 24th March was a busy night for 1st team captain Stewart Hefferman as he collected his third consecutive Veterans' Championship trophy on his way to the final of the headline competition. Stewart beat Rory Fisher by 3 - 0 in another excellent final that saw Rory push Stewart all the way despite the final scoreline. The line - up was a repeat of the final of the 2011 tournament which saw both contestants enter the competition for the first time.

The final score was 9 - 5, 9 - 6, 9 - 3.

Club Championship - normal service resumed

Members may be aware that the club has been undergoing something of a period of restoration recently with the replacement of the terminal on the balcony and the re-establishment of the computer control of the court lighting. This theme was continued on the evening of Sunday 28th March as Stewart Hefferman regained his rightful place as Club Champion by beating Mike Burnett 3 - 2 in the final of the Club's flagship tournament.

The crowd were treated to an absolute spectacle of superb squash with both players contributing to an epic final that ebbed and flowed over a period of at least 90 minutes.

Stewart took the first game 9 - 5 before Mike countered by taking the second 9 - 6. The third game swung Stewarts way again as he won 9 - 6. Mike then took the short fourth game by an astounding scoreline of 9 - 0. Stewart has an absolute deadpan demeanor on court and his reaction to this surprising turn of events was one of mere mild irritation and he went on to seal the victory with an equally surprising 9 - 1 scoreline in the deciding game.

This is Stewart's seventh championship in the last eight years and it was a pleasure to watch. It was certainly the best final I have seen at the club in almost 20 years.

Rakesh Gulati won the Veterans' Tournament by beating Vince Paul 3 - 2 after having to come from behind twice. The final statistics read 4 - 9, 9 - 7, 6 - 9, 9 - 4, 9 - 0.

Ex Club Chairman, David Colwill won the trophy for players in League 7 and below with a 3 - 0 victory over Ian Nunn.

Kevin bows out on a high note

Kevin Popely brought the curtain down on his career at Gerrards Cross Squash Club with a comprehensive 3 - 0 victory over Nick Hallchurch in the final of the Veterans' Tournament. After winning the first game, he trailed briefly to Nick in the second but rallied to win that too and from 2 - 0, the match was only going to go one way.

Kevin has been a regular at club tournament finals having won the Vets' title twice before and been runner-up to Stewart Hefferman in the main Club Tournament in 2004. He has also won the Summer Handicap Tournament and twice been runner-up in the Winter Handicap Tournament (at least RC won't have to resort to hyper-mathematics to calculate his handicaps in future tournaments).

Kevin was also awarded the trophy for becoming the Points Champion in the Winter Leagues having gained an unassailable lead with just days to go and currently holds the top slot on the ladder.

He has said that he is retiring from squash as of the end of this match but I note that he didn't toss his racket into the crowd so who knows, we may yet see him again next year.

Heff makes it 5 in a row

Stewart Hefferman maintained his Lance Armstrong-like grip on the Club Championship by winning his 5th consecutive title on 25th March 2007.

He Beat Mike Burnett 3 - 1 in the final.

On the same evening, Kevin Popely regained the Vets' title that he previously won in 2005 by beating Nick Hallchurch 3 - 0.

Andy Youngs took the League 7 plus title by beating Carl Francis 3 - 0.

Congratulations and well done to all who played.